jump to navigation

Ida Maria-Oh My God November 27, 2007

Posted by alexd in Buzz band, Music, Pop, Video.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Genre: Indie/Rock/Punk

Label: Nesna Records

Strolling along, I see this party, its basically over. Condoms and syringes are strewn around the poorly maintained gardens. An ugg booted girl is throwing up in a hedge while a fugly boy holds back her hair in desperate hope of getting some tail later.

But I here this song. A song so good, it makes my week. I want to eat to it, I want to sleep to it, I want to drink to it, I will lose my mind to it. This is Ida Maria. A girl and her band making amazing pop music (not surprisingly from Sweden Norway!) that sounds like the Pixies having fun. They’ve supported Good Shoes but don’t let that taint your opinion off them. Actually that’s harsh. What I mean is they sound nothing like really.

Ida Maria- Oh My God

Smashing. I can’t claim this as a discovery really. Nialler9 was where I heard it from, but the cheeky git from MyOldKentuckyBlog had his ear to the ground and picked this out during CMJ in the states. Even The Guardian got there before me. Luckily this video came out 4 days ago, and no ones noticed so I’ll claim the video. Yay me. I’m so desperate.

MP3: Ida Maria-Oh My God [highly recommended]

MP3: Ida Maria- Louie

Mp3: Ida Maria- Going To Hell

Of course. Ida Marie need your money to afford herring to build up a layer of fat to get through the cold summer months in Sweden. So go to iTunes or buy “OMG” on hand numbered 7inch. I did as not only is something worth keeping, but I reckon could be a good investment, as we should be hearing a lot more from her in the future. Just today she did something for MTV and has an XFM live Session with John Kennedy in January. She also runs her own label (that Nesna one) which makes her even more cool. A possible hope for a Swedish Arts and Crafts?

Gigs?

26 Nov 2007 20:00
MTV Acoustic London
29 Nov 2007 20:00
Time Out ‘On The Up’ @ Bar Academy Islington, London Islingston
7 Dec 2007 20:00
Debaser Medis Stockholm, Stockholms län
20 Dec 2007 20:00
Mo i Rana Mo i Rana, Nordland
10 Jan 2008 20:00
Eurosonic Groeningen Groeningen
15 Jan 2008 20:00
Dublin Castle London, London and South East
19 Jan 2008 20:00
Student House Sør-Trøndelag
22 Jan 2008 12:00
Live Session John Kennedy XFM London, London and South East

Myspace: Ida Maria has enough friends to shake a stick at

Website: Its in Swedish

Shout out for our friend at ishooktheroyalthrone.com who has now strings together a series of songs on Goldsmith’s Uni Internet radio station Wired. I’ve been listening to this as I write and its definitely worth keeping an eye on to here his interview with British Sea Power. Competing with Colin Murray he is playing some very interesting stuff, and honestly has been some of the best music radio I’ve heard in a while. Join his face.

Comments»

1. Drunk Country - November 27, 2007

& we were there before all of them.

Ida is a fucking gem & should be preserved before the likes of Shitfork & Stereobum get their grubby hands on her & ruin her for other blogs.

:oP

x HE + ½DC

The Waiting Room
http://www.ErrorFM.com
Every Wednesday
10pm-Midnight (GMT)

– music what makes you wiggle a bit –

2. Drunk Country - November 27, 2007

p.s. she’s Norsk & happens to live in Sweden.

3. Katja - December 3, 2007

She’s brilliant. Oh My God’s been on Norwegian radio since spring as she won Urørt 07 (urørt literally means untouched and is a competition run for new bands each year by the Norwegian equivalent to BBC Radio 1). Her second single is on radio here now. It’s called Stella and is almost as amazing as Oh My God. Can’t wait to see her live someday!!!

Oh and I’ll repeat the above, she’s Norwegian, happening to have settled in Sweden. Nesna Records is named after her hometown Nesna in northern Norway.

4. m - July 23, 2008

PS: she’s Norwegian, and the website is in Norwegian not swedish

5. Drunk Country - November 20, 2008

Listen in to the podcast of our latest radio show where we caught up with Ida on her current UK tour & chat about this & that & everything in between. You can also win TONS of signed Ida Maria CDs :o)

Listen here: http://www.TWRHQ.com

Cheers,

½DC

6. bealtaine fires feed mayday revels « dubthach - April 23, 2009

[…] Oh My God – Ida Maria (lyrics) […]


Leave a Reply

