jump to navigation

My Internet Junkie Overdose August 17, 2006

Posted by alexd in Music.
trackback

RIP Data PanikHaving been away for 2 weeks, cut off from the ever moving, ever hyping, ever flaming internet world. I had been suffering withdrawal symptons. But now back in blighty i was able to feed my unending addiction. And have just recovered from a fit of vomiting and shaking uncontrollably around on the floor with my eyes rolled into the back of my head, having scanned my bloglines feeds. I have also been trying to cut through all the podcasts I’ve missed, ridiculous amount of emails and soon the 3 episodes of Lost I missed.

Cuba by the way can be summed up in the way that for breakfast you could regularly find croissants (or what looked like) made of bread. Looks like very similar but tastes a bit more wholesome/healthier/different. The people do seem pretty happy (ignorance is bliss) though. the old throaty cars are brilliantly disfunctional antiques. We took a Taxi to Old Havana, and following lunch, walked past the same Chevrolet pulled up at the lights, with the old driver investigating the cause of his smoking engine.

Anyway, I have missed loads, and really can’t tell you everything thats happened. So here are the headlines:

The catchy synth poppers Data Panik have split

Beck’s Album is out in October

Albert Hammond Jnr From The Strokes Is Going Solo

I think the above will probably be rubbish as he always plays the simpler bits in the Strokes Songs. Nick Valensi always had the better bits.

Winners of V-festivals “Road To V” announced

Badluck dirtybronsons friends NoAVontheTV. The winners are a bit meh. I wanted Yes Boss to win.

Kasabian US Tour Dates Announced and New Albums Tracklisting

And:

YEAH YEAH YEAHS ANNOUNCE U.S. TOUR
YEAH YEAH YEAHS have announced a U.S. tour you don’t want to miss! The dates kicked off last Thursday with a free show in Boston followed by two nights with Sonic Youth at Brooklyn’s McCarren Park Pool (video footage below). Audiences in La Jolla, Calif. are next in line to catch Karen O. and crew in action after the band returns from a quick run through Europe. All U.S. dates are below.

09/28 @ RIMAC Arena at UCSD – La Jolla, CA
09/30 @ Download Festival – Mountain View, CA
10/01 @ Palladium – Los Angeles, CA
10/02 @ Palladium – Los Angeles, CA
10/04 @ Marquee Theatre – Tempe, AZ
10/06 @ Gypsy Ballroom – Dallas, TX
10/07 @ Stubb’s BBQ – Austin, TX
10/08 @ Warehouse Live – Houston, TX
10/09 @Caine’s Ballroom – Tulsa, OK
10/12 @ Cinema – Pompano, FL
10/13 @ Hard Rock Live – Orlando, FL
10/14 @ Tabernacle – Atlanta, GA
10/16 @ War Memorial – Nashville, TN

Stephanie Trick- The Musebox Online Marketing

I would prefer if you payed me in sterling direct to my offshore bank account.

Download: Data Panik- Sense Not Sense

Data Panik- Rulers and the States

Data Panik- Cubis (I Love You) [highly recommended]

